diy solar

diy solar

Materials needed for DIY LiFEPO4 100Ah battery build

mrcotton73

Hello

I am new to this and trying to put together a 90Ah/100Ah LiFePO4 battery with BMS. This will replace two SLAs in my travel trailer - and I will be charging them with 2 100W solar panels mounted on the roof. I have been researching Will's website, battery builds / videos etc. but I am not 100% clear on all parts needed to test the battery - so I thought I would put out a question to this forum. I want to work out the costs to compare if its better to build v/s buy one

Things I need :

Battery cells -- purchase from AliExpress (seeing deals for 4 cells around $170.00 -- can't confirm if these are grade A or not)..
BMS system with bluetooth and low temp sensor
Bus Bars, Wires, hardware etc..

For charging / testing / balancing:
Variable high-current power-supply? (I have a NOCO genius charger - will that work)
Battery capacity tester
Cell Balancer?
Anything else?

Thanks again for the help in advance!

In terms of what is the minimum necessary to build, balance, capacity test (off the top of my head):

Battery:
Check mark, Wingdings font, character code 252 decimal.
Cells

BMS
low temp sensor (recommended), Bluetooth (totally optional)
Bus Bars, and Hardware (included with the cells normally)
Way to Secure/Protect the cells

For standard balance method:

Multimeter and/or Clamp Meter
CC/CV Power Supply

*There are other methods (i.e. just buy and use an active balancer, hobby balancer)

Capacity Test:
Way to charge pack (or individual cell)
Way to discharge pack (or individual cell)
Way to measure energy in/out (like a battery monitor, shunt, hall sensor)
*An actual capacity test as a pre-commissioning step is a good idea, but not necessary, many people skip it. If you have a battery monitor in your system your first full cycles can double as a practical capacity test.