diy solar

diy solar

Midnite - Victron - Other - Help me choose

Bigtruckin85

I'm new to solar builds.. I've been doing research on my own for quite awhile, hoping all this would come together. Still seems like it's a foreign language sometimes. I'd appreciate some outside perspective to make sure I'm going down the right path
This is for a completely off grid property on acreage that will have a camper, cabin and eventually expand to more. Nothing big at the moment, but planning ahead. Budget is pretty open, but I'd say I'm going for best bang for the buck.
Currently plan on 48V system. Have quotes for 16 - 280K, but haven't ordered yet.
Plan on getting an inverter/charger so I can use my generator for backup charging.

I have 10 of the used Sunpower 435 watt panels. Initial rated VOC =85.6 ISC=6.43. I got these knowing the high VOC would be kind of awkward. I had been looking at the Midnite SCC's already, so I knew I could work with them if I didn't find anything else.

Plugging the numbers into the Midnite sizing tool with 2s5p configuration seems pretty ideal as the panels max out the PV wattage and gives me room on the VOC even without the HyperVOC kicking in. Biggest downside to Midnite is price, but I understand they're supposed to be good quality. I'm in Washington, so I could probably go knock on their door if something went wrong. Besides being a solid unit, I don't know what all the bells and whistles are compared to Victron. Just trying to get the numbers to work out at this point and then decide between units.

Another option I looked at was the Victron 150/35. Using the Victron calculator if I only went 1S5P, I'd stay within the VOC and current limit. I'd need 2 of these units, so benefit would be redundancy. Would save a little $ over the Midnite. Victron 250/70 price is pretty high, so didn't really consider it.