diy solar

diy solar

Mike from South Texas with ????s on 12V system

Maximus1234

Newbie here that's been dragging my feet because of confusion. Trying to figure out if I mapped this system out right and if the components will work together. Also do I need a fuse between the panels and the charge controller? All feedback is greatly appreciated.
PicsArt_10-14-09.58.45.jpg

Assuming you're running the 3x batteries and the panels in parallel (since you can't really series odd numbers) you're close. I can't get my paint lines as thick as yours but this should give you a basic idea. The 35a fuse between the SCC and the batteries isn't really needed since your total amperage is about half what the controller is rated for, but some people feel better having one in there and peace of mind is worth a few bucks sometimes.

Attachments

• PicsArt_Change-1.jpg
    PicsArt_Change-1.jpg
    279.8 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Honestly, your setup is not the greatest setup for what you want to power with that inverter. If you had 1 more panel you could probably do a 3s/2p panel setup and that MPPT controller would let you produce a LOT more usable power.

If you could get 1 more panel AND 1 more battery, you could do a 3s/2p and a 24v system with a 24v inverter dropping your wiring and fuse down to 150a size.

If I had to choose 1 option though, a 6th panel to get that sweet 3s/2p setup would be my choice.

Honestly, your setup is not the greatest setup for what you want to power with that inverter. If you had 1 more panel you could probably do a 3s/2p panel setup and that MPPT controller would let you produce a LOT more usable power.

If you could get 1 more panel AND 1 more battery, you could do a 3s/2p and a 24v system with a 24v inverter dropping your wiring and fuse down to 150a size.

If I had to choose 1 option though, a 6th panel to get that sweet 3s/2p setup would be my choice.