diy solar

diy solar

Monitoring DC-coupled PV production with shunt?

fafrd

Solar Wizard
I’m looking for easy ways to monitor / measure DC-coupled production and realized that placing a shunt on the output path of an SCC (or multiple SCCs) should provide an easy solution.

Interested in anyone who is already doing this?

In particular, I’m considering building a PLC-based or Rasberry-Pi-based ‘brain’ that will monitor DC-coupled power generation as well as grid import/export to control a Modbus-based hybrid inverter such as the Schneider Conext XW Pro.

I have no experience with either platform, so any suggestions as to which would be easier to interface to a shunt to achieve my goal of DC-coupled power generation monitoring / measuring appreciated.

You can buy meters and shuts that pretty much do what you want. Is there something special you are looking to deliver?

You can buy meters and shuts that pretty much do what you want. Is there something special you are looking to deliver?
The hybrid inverter I’m considering (Schneider Conext XW Pro) allows export power to be controlled through Modbus commands.

I was thinking about adding additional AC-coupled power because that makes it very easy to ramp-up export ‘naturally’ with early-morning sunshine.

But now I realize that if my ‘brain’ is able to measure the amount of incoming early-morning DC-coupled power using a shunt, I can achieve exactly the same thing by instructing the XW Pro to export an amount of AC-power matching the level of incoming DC-coupled power.

So I’m looking for an easy way to measure DC-power generation out of 1 or 2 SCCs that can be read by either a PLC-based or Rasberry Pi-based controller / brain.

Just unsure how uncommon of an approach this might be.

Of course, as soon as you enter the world of programming your own energy monitors / controllers, I understand you are getting waaay off the beaten-path…