diy solar

diy solar

Move Panels / Re-Route Power Before Starting PV?

Porter21

Hi Everyone,

First post, been reading here for a few weeks and trying to learn. I'd like to do a small-scale DIY install this summer to get my feet wet. Wanted to solicit some pre-setup advice. Apologies if I give extraneous info, I'm just beginning with this. I'm in the U.S., so 120/240 AC power. The plan is a PV system charging 48V lithium batteries, grid-tied to charge the batteries (from grid or generator) when needed, but not back-feeding the grid. This is not meant to be a whole-house power replacement, but instead a gradual reduction of grid use and a way to reduce generator demand in case of extended outages.

Here's the situation: On my property there are 3 buildings with power: the house, a detached garage, and a shop building. Grid power comes on the property to the meter, and then splits off to the shop in one direction and then to the house in the other direction. At the meter a propane generator backs up everything. Both the shop and the house have their own electric panel (not in same location) each with a main breaker rated at 200amps. The garage is wired into the house main panel on a 30-amp breaker. There is no subpanel in the garage, just what looks to me to be DIY wiring of outlets for lights and 120V power. So:
garage <- house <- GRID -> shop