diy solar

diy solar

Moved and new house has an old system

Damil 1776

Howdy, I am a novice solar junkie, I moved in to a house that has 4×100 watt panels, the panels are on a ground mount over 45 ft away from the solar charger, they had the system under wired with 10 awg and the charge controler had burnt out, I got a new pwm controller 40 amp and ran 8 awg. Realizing later that this is also under rated for the length, I have since disconnected the system until I can set it up correct, the panels say they produce 5.75 or 23 amps in parallel. Before I disconnected the system it would only charge at 15.4 amps. If I move the system closer to the house I lose 4 hours of sunlight, I can not afford to get larger wires, The question, if I did my calculations right I can run 15 ft of 8awg to get full charging amps, there is no good spot to place it in the sun, if I go 20ft I get a 5% loss but have decent sun, can I go 15ft of 8awg, then splice 5 ft of 12awg and get less loss?

Attachments

• 20220712_143144.jpg
    20220712_143144.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 1
Get an MPPT charger and connect all 4 in series. You will have less than 7 amps on a #8 wire and be much better off.

Wish I could but 24v inverter is our of budget
Do you mean charge controller or inverter? If you're running a 12v system you'll want a 40a SCC, if it's 24v then a 20a will be fine. The higher the voltage you can go the less noticeable the voltage drop is. 8% of 20v hurts a lot more than 8% of 80v, but the 8% you should have now isn't too horrible as it is.

If you mean inverter then that doesn't care about the MPPT controller.

Just using a PWM controller is nerfing your system by about 25% as it is.

can I go 15ft of 8awg, then splice 5 ft of 12awg and get less loss?
In theory, yes. You'll want to keep as much of the larger cable as you can but there's no reason it won't work.