diy solar

diy solar

MPP LVX6048WP AC Coupling

Sanwizard

Solar Wizard
Since I am not an electrician, I am looking for advice on how to add my two MPP LVX6048WP Inverters to my existing SMA inverter system. The SMA's have been humming along since 2004, and are handling the homes needs during the day. (One 6KW and one 3KW Sunny Boys).

The sunny boys are fed by two individual roof mount strings of LG panels, that are now only putting out about 300V per string. (300V to the 3K inverter, and 300V to the 6K inverter). I know sunny islands would be the best way to go, but my finances recently changed, so I need to make use of what I already own, which are two LVX6048WP's from Ian at Watts247.com
I was one of the original purchasers on the wait list with Ian, when we were all under rhe impression the WP's were Low Freq. Inverters and could be grid tied and AC coupled.
My thoughts are adding a transfer switch to the main panel, with one feed being the grid, and the other being the MPP Inverters from an existing 100amp sub panel, kinda like a whole house generator connection I used to have via a Generac 20K.
The MPP feeds would trick the SMA's into thinking grid was on, (ac coupled) so both the MPP's and existing SMA's would supply power to the main panel.
The MPP's would be setup as off-grid mode with seperate PV arrays supplying them from a ground mount system. I would also like a way for the grid to feed the ac in on the inverters to charge the batteries during extended cloudy weather, but i am not clear on that connection( yet another sub panel?)
Any advice on if this would work, or any advice on a better solution would be greatly appreciated.

LVX6048 are not capable of doing GT AC coupling on their AC output.

Trouble will occur when grid goes down. LVX6048 does not have freq shifting to control GT inverter output power.