diy solar

diy solar

MPPT, BMS and Inverter wiring question

Bugzee

Hi all...

I'm a newbie here and I'm planing to build an off-grid system for my home.
So far I'm planning on using a DIY LiFePO4 battery 280ah 24v (From Amy).

Referring to the sketch attached (ignore any wire sizes, switches or fuses) I have a question.
Assuming it's day time (charge controller is up and running) and for some reason the battery is very low (assume the battery was used the previous night).
If the inverter is turned on, won't the power from the charge controller sent to the inverter as well?

The ideal situation would be that the inverter will draw power only from the battery and not the charge controller.
Is this the way it would work or is there some sort of solution to this?

I'm planning on using a 300A or larger Daly Smart BMS.

Thanks.

1650091750731.png

Hmm... The solar charge controller can output only 40amps. Can the inverter run with that power?

Is the design above commonly used by everybody?

I'm not comfortable powering the inverter from the solar charge controller...
Hi Bugzee,

If you use this inveter @dyatime, then you could get power from the solar panels. This means the power from solar through the MPPT to battery. And it seems your inverter is little bit bigger for the battery. 300A BMS is enough.

@indalecio I think I maybe able to use the load of the solar charge controller to activate/deactivate a relay to control the inverter.
This way, when the bat level is low, inverter will be turned off...

Some inverters have a programmable parameter called low voltage disconnect that does just that.
The inverter draws power from the battery. If it's on, some of the battery charge will go to it. But
a) You can turn it off yourself.
b) If no loads are drawing power from it, the idle draw will likely be small enough to not really matter.

Your BMS should really have a low voltage disconnect setting, anyway.
-