diy solar

diy solar

Mppt solar charge controller

Phil50

I am new to all this and confused about charge controllers. I've been reading but it's just not clear

If I have a 100/20 controller does that mean I have to ensure that my solar panel array is configured in such a way that the output from the panels is no more than 100 volts and 20 amps coming into the controller

OR

Does it mean that the controllers output will be restricted to 100volts and 20 amps regardless of what is coming in from the panels

OR

Does it mean something completely different

I am new to all this and confused about charge controllers. I've been reading but it's just not clear

If I have a 100/20 controller does that mean I have to ensure that my solar panel array is configured in such a way that the output from the panels is no more than 100 volts and 20 amps coming into the controller

OR

Does it mean that the controllers output will be restricted to 100volts and 20 amps regardless of what is coming in from the panels

OR

Does it mean something completely different
It's kind of both solar panel array config and mppt size ties with battery voltage.

You are restricted to 100 volts input adjusted for temperature and 20 amps output at battery voltage. Mppt usually handle over a little on input watts. The overages at peak hours is not realized.

You are restricted to 100 volts input adjusted for temperature and 20 amps output at battery voltage. Mppt usually handle over a little on input watts. The overages at peak hours is not realized.
OK. In this case, so long as I keep the input from the panels below 100v I don't need to be concerned about input current. The controller will be able to handle it.

Is that correct???

The battery bank uses 100ah batteries so 20 or 30 Amp output from the controller would be alright

OK. In this case, so long as I keep the input from the panels below 100v I don't need to be concerned about input current. The controller will be able to handle it.