diy solar

diy solar

My 24v 24kw Blueprint

yambine

Hi guys,

I've just received most of the parts to build a 24v 24kw two battery (eventually I will upgrade to a 48kw four battery) solar battery bank. Before I move on with any wirings, I want to post my blueprint below to get your opinions. Just to let you know that this is my first time building any sort of solar generator so feel free to point out any issues. Also on the blueprint, I have marked 2 boxes in red with A and B. For location A, I think I probably need a breaker for this. For 12v I'm thinking maximum I will need 400w, so a 40a breaker? For location B, I want to have a battery monitor so should I install the shunt at this location? Is it safe to connect the positive wire of the shunt to the low terminal of solar controller? Thanks in advance and Happy Holidays!

IMG_0697.jpg

IMG_0695.jpg

I've just received most of the parts to build a 24v 24kw two battery (eventually I will upgrade to a 48kw four battery) solar battery bank.
FYI - Your battery bank is measured in watt-hours, not watts. 2 batteries x 12.8V/battery x 100Ah/battery = 2560Wh or 2.56kWh.

I know Will rarely does this in his diagrams but I would add a positive bus bar to mirror the negative bus bar. This way you are not trying to wire everything to one central fuse. With the positive bus bar in place you can use separate fuses/breakers for each item. You would wire the main battery fuse (Class-T) between the battery and bus bar. You would have a fuse/breaker between the inverter and the bus bar. You would have the breaker between the charge controller and bus bar. You would have a fuse (A) between the 24V-12V DC-DC converter and the bus bar.

For location A, I think I probably need a breaker for this. For 12v I'm thinking maximum I will need 400w, so a 40a breaker?