diy solar

diy solar

My experience with hybrid water heaters and a warning to stay away from AO Smith hybrid water heaters

Since my system I am planning should have excess energy from PV, I’m just thinking of getting a large (80 gal) electric water heater and have it set to heat when there is excess power being generated during the day. With the large tank, I shouldn‘t need to heat it when the sun ain’t shining. Or at least rarely.
Exactly... solar dumping on a timer with it piped to my radiant heat would be ideal.

I do HVAC for a living. I repair heat pumps all the time. Guess which one I bought? $2K more in solar panels. I'm keeping my 80 gallon and 5000W resistive elements. I have a timer that turns the water heater on at noon and off at 6 PM. Add 4 inches of insulation to the water heater and you'll have hot water all day/night long as long as you're not taking 30 minute showers or more than three people in the house. Less repair cost, less up front cost and we won't be cooling our basement or crawlspace down in the winter time.
YES...THIS! Could you please share details on this? Thoughts on also piping it in to the radiant heat with a boiler? Or maybe just doing it up to handle domestic hot water? Thx in advance!

I do HVAC for a living. I repair heat pumps all the time. Guess which one I bought? $2K more in solar panels. I'm keeping my 80 gallon and 5000W resistive elements. I have a timer that turns the water heater on at noon and off at 6 PM. Add 4 inches of insulation to the water heater and you'll have hot water all day/night long as long as you're not taking 30 minute showers or more than three people in the house. Less repair cost, less up front cost and we won't be cooling our basement or crawlspace down in the winter time.
Thank you for posting this. You as an HVAC tech have confirmed why I don’t ever think I’ll buy a heat pump H2O heater.