diy solar

diy solar

My first off-grid system for review

TechnoTime

Hello everyone! I'm a total newbie, and this is what I've come up with after a week of research. It's for off grid sauna cabin.

I pretty much only need it for lights, which I plan to run on 12v DC from fuse box (adding some USB outlets for phone / laptop charging). Then I'll have couple of 230v AC sockets as well from my inverter, just in case.

What I'm mostly confused is:

1. Is my BMS big enough and is it OK to connect it the way I did in diagram?
2. Is fuse box connected properly.
3. Are my breakers in proper size?

Batteries gonna be DIY aliexpress cells. All system together is roughly 600 eur (730 usd), so quite cheap. We have proper winter here for a few months, so I'll add DIY automated battery heater, as the electricity box gonna be outside cabin. For those cells, it's written that charging temperature is from -10C, should I trust that or should I never let them charge below 0?

Thanks!

Attachments

• test2.jpg
    test2.jpg
    344.3 KB · Views: 51
Last edited:
The BMS goes between the battery and everything else (except the OCP). Connect everything to your common bus bars. Then connect the negative common bus bar to the BMS.

Your 125 amp OCP (Over Current Protection) device goes between the positive post of the battery and the positive common bus bar. Dual pole isn't necessary. Most implementations are using a fuse, not a circuit breaker. A Class T fuse is the general recommendation. There are some circuit breakers that could be used in this position, but they are almost as expensive as a Class T fuse.

Your BMS probably is NOT big enough. The 1000 watt inverter often has a much higher surge wattage. However, if you know that you'll never pull more than 60 amps out of the battery that BMS might work. I say "might" because the Daly BMS is often derated by as much as 50% to get a real rating.

There should be a circuit breaker between the common bus bar and the inverter.