diy solar

diy solar

My first Solar project

jsmalone1

So after 45 years as an electrician I decided to install a solar/ battery system at my house. My goal is really to have a whole house generator, as so many friends installed traditional generators, either natural gas or propane fueled, and I feel that is not the way I wanted to go. While the risk of not being able to obtain fuel isn't a risk to most people, it is to me. My community does not yet allow solar panels on our roofs so I installed 10 440 watt panels on stands on the south side of my house. I installed 23,000 wh of lithium iron phosphate batteries and a 5,000 watt Growatt inverter. So far I'm powering my entire house less the AC, water heater, dryer and oven. Being an electrician helped immensely with wiring a sub panel, transformer and the inverter. Beyond that however, solar and lithium batteries are a new learning experience for me. I'm installing a heat pump water heater and plan on adding this to my solar loads with a second 5,000 watt Growatt inverter. With little experience , I'm learning that more solar panels are probably needed. Any advice is welcome. I have an Emporium load monitor so I can see all my individual loads. Reading tips here really helped and I appreciate it.

Attachments

• IMG_20211029_161039.jpg
    IMG_20211029_161039.jpg
    268.4 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG_20211102_142012.jpg
    IMG_20211102_142012.jpg
    106.4 KB · Views: 44
  • IMG_20211109_131648__01.jpg
    IMG_20211109_131648__01.jpg
    548.1 KB · Views: 43
First, is that an XT500 on the wall? My dad has a '76, and I rode the crap outta that thing until about 2000.

I would be VERY concerned about shading of the lower half of those bifacial panels from the fence. Depending on the circuit path in those panels, you could be taking out the entire half if you shade just the lower row of cells.