diy solar

diy solar

My house solar project: What do you think :S

Willbiker

Hi All

I would like to invite you to comment on the solar install I am planning for my house. I consume around 10,000 kwh a year due to energy thirsty hobbies and with the crazy new tariffs here in the UK, I decided its time to invest in PV and be a little greener.

Although I have some basic electrical experience and have built a successful off grid solar system for my caravan, I am planning to install the system myself with the help of a builder friend however I have a solar qualified electrician lined up to inspect, connect up and sign off the system.

I would greatly appreciate your opinions on my proposal!

I have a 1960s pitched roof semi detached house which has the rear pitch facing south/east and the front pitch facing north/west. I have calculated the weight of my roof (roughly) and the PV hardware will weight considerably less than 15% of the roof weight so I understand no structural building control sign off is required.

PV:
I am considering going with JA Solar JAM60S10-335/MR BF Half cell panels and using online calculators, I have estimated the following energy generation:
String 1 - South/East, 3.685kw of panels (11x 335w), connected in series, Estimated production per year = 2,617 KHW
String 2 - North/West, 4kw of panels (12x 335w), connected in series, Estimated production per year = 2,662 KHW

Link to panels - https://www.tradesparky.com/solarsp...o-panels/ja-solar-jam60s10-335mr-bf-half-cell

Inverter: