diy solar

diy solar

My Solar Adventure

John49546

It started with a four-day outage one July two years ago. Being on a well, no electricity = no water. No water = no flushing. No flushing = I won’t go there. I wanted a backup generator but was outvoted: the family insisted on something independent and renewable. What better than the sun?

Beginning with a pair of HQST 100-Watt 12 Volt Polycrystalline Solar Panels and a 500-Watt Kyng Power Solar Generator Portable Power Station UPS Battery, I started my adventure. In no time at all, I graduated to four Richsolar 100-Watt 12 Volt Monocrystalline Solar Panels, a Renogy Rover 20-Amp 12V/24V MPPT Solar Charge Controller with a BT-1 Bluetooth Module, and a BLUETTI EB150 1500Wh Emergency Battery Backup Unit.

Then things got a little crazy. I built a pergola the summer before and before you know it, there were twelve HQST 100-Watt 12 Volt Polycrystalline Solar Panels sitting on top of it. Picture1.jpgWell, all that electricity had to go somewhere, so I passed it through an Picture2.jpgMPP SOLAR 5000w Split Phase Solar Inverter and into four 12-Volt 200-AmpHour Lead-Acid batteriesPicture3.jpg wired in a series. (I know, but they were cheap)

All of this stuff would get wired into the house somehow by a licensed electrician who would take care of permits and inspections. I sent a diagramPicture4.png of how the overall configuration was supposed to turn out. In retrospect, it may have been a little intimidating. After the two I called said they were too busy, I got a little impatient and things may have gotten out of hand.

The house is large with 200-Amp service. I knew I could never get to a backup system that large. Instead, I installed a secondary breaker boxPicture5.jpg to split out all the must-have circuits. The original box was completely full anyway.