diy solar

diy solar

Need help picking battery charger

Dmckindley

I’m a newbie and need help picking best charger that won’t ruin my batteries. I currently have 2x12V SOK batteries with 206 amp hours each connected in parallel. i’m concerned about buying a charger with too much amperage that would decrease the duration of my batteries. I need to find balance of good power to charge quickly but yet not compromising my battery pack. The AIMS charger is too costly. Looking at the progressive dynamics 30 or 45 amp, or the blue smart IP 22 charger 30 amp. Are these too low power? What are other suggestions in the $200 price range?

To be clear, are you talking about a 120VAC charger that your plug into the wall socket and attach clamps to the battery terminals, or are you talking about a solar charge controller the receives its power from solar panels?

As a general rule of thumb, batteries like charging at between 1/8th C for lead and 1/4 C for Li. Since you have two 206Ah batteries in parallel, that would be (206Ah X 2 batteries)/4 = 103amps. I don't think you are going to find a 120VAC charger that puts out that many amps at an affordable price. The best option might be to divide your bank and charge each battery separately. I'd select the 45amp PD charger.

I am waiting for my EVE 280Ah cells to arrive. I expect they are off the coast of California in that traffic jam. My main system is 48v but I will run a small 12v system for TV and lighting at night. I think this charger might be worth looking at. I am not sure how programmable the charge curves are though. I will call TRC this week and probably order a pair for the 48v system and one for the 12v system.

do you