diy solar

diy solar

Need help picking hybrid inverter

frosty1

I'm a newbie but have spent last 6 weeks absorbing information here through a fire hose?. My primary goal was to have backup for critical loads during outages but also want to backfeed the grid (net metering). I estimate 5Kwh usage per day during outages. Here's where I stand now:

1. I have ordered 16 Lishen 270aH cells to build a 48V battery pack (13Kwh).
2. Solar panels should be delivered today (qty. 10 370 watt phono). 48.1 Voc, 9.3 Impp.

Now I need to pick out an inverter. Here's my list :

1. Outback skybox (5Kw) : Looks like it does everything I want. MPPT voltage range is 250-600V, so I would probably have to series all 10 panels ? Higher price than others, but UL listed and looks like good support.
2. Phocos Any-grid (5KW) : Not much information out there on this one, but about half price of skybox.

Others I looked at are Schneider, SMA, MPP.

Would appreciate your opinion on which one would fit my needs better or other issues I should look out for.

Thank you.

Frosty1,

How did you make out with your selection for an inverter to complete your system?

I too am looking for an inverter with dual AC Outputs having one for critical loads during outages. So far I have found the highly praised Victon Energy - Multiplus ll has these options but this comes with a price.

Hopefully, you are able to find an inverter for your system.

I decided on the Outback skybox. It looks like it does everything I wanted. Battery backup for grid down, grid tie to feed power (net metering). I wont know how it works for sure until I get it completed. Been waiting 3 weeks for county to approve my permit. I looked at Growatt and other cheaper ones, but needed the UL listing for grid tie approval. I will let you know how it works out. Should be powering up in a couple weeks. Will be without battery pack at first until I get the Lishen cells. Good luck with your system.