diy solar

diy solar

Need help trying to make a setup to charge my laptop & phone in the park

Magento001

Hey so I have a dell ultrabook 7470, a renogy T100 and my cell. basically need to charge my my latptop fully 1 time and my 97watt hour renogy portable battery 1 time each day. I am totally new to solar and not quite sure what I will need.

Renogy T100 Portable Charger

T100 PORTABLE CHARGER
SKU: RNG-CMP-T100

I understand I need a portable solar panel guessing 100-200 watt (hopefully 100watt will do as the 200 watt ones are just massive to walk around with)

I am hoping I can somehow avoid getting a deep cycle or 12 volt battery of any kind as they appear heavy as crap and I dont want to walk around with them.

Can I somehow transfer the AC power to my DC laptop directly with just an inverter and a charge controller? Also maybe I can somehow rig the solar panel to connect directly to the Renogy T100 battery.
I understand I will need a MC4 to dc adapter to convert the power from the solar panel to dc, can I just use an adapter inverter and controller?

I dont seem to need alot of juice but am also confused as to how many watts solar panel will be enough I understand that you only get 25-30% of total max watts usually.

Any help is appreciated

Last edited:
so that means the max size solar panel I can get is 30W, will 30 watts be enough to charge this fully at least 1 time a day? how much of a charge can 30 watts give me?

Rated Capacity: 97.28Wh
1000 / 30 = 3.3
In perfect conditions you could theoretically charge your battery in less than 4 hours.

But from what i understand you usually only get 25% of the solar output that they say due to imperfect conditions. etc...

so this 30 watt solar panel above mentions the following: A grade solar cell convert up to 22% of solar power into free energy.

does that mean it will be able to do 22% of 30 watts?

I can't say with any certainty.
Usually when you see a number in that range its talking about efficiency.