diy solar

diy solar

Need Help with Solar Panels & Renogy DCC50S MPPT

Flashman

Newbie here, so this is hopefully obvious to others.

I have two Newpowa 12v 160w solar panels wired in parallel.

My math using the solar panel specs shows that the maximum I would get out of these panels should be: (Vmp) 16.77V, (Imp) 18.6A, for a total watts of 312 watts. Not the "320" advertised, but close enough it seems.

They are plugged into a Renogy DCC50S MPPT charger w/ BT2 Bluetooth adapter.

First day of testing, the Renogy DC Home App (what a crappy app btw) informed me that it maxed out at 17.59 Amps and 236 watts. I attributed this to "well it wasn't that sunny, so that's fine". However, the second day of testing, Renogy DC Home App again said it capped again at exactly 17.59 Amps and 236 watts. Now that sounds like I'm hitting a hard limit of some sort - I'd expect to see variations between the two days. I went and verified my parallel wiring, that seems good. The vehicle was turned off during this time, so there was no competing alternator input. But even then, I think I am well within the DCC50S limits.

Thoughts, ideas? Stupid things I missed?

So new at this, I can make dead wires spark,
Rick

Thoughts, ideas? Stupid things I missed?

Any chance the app display isn't updating/refresting automagically? Controller output tends to fluctuate constantly as solar conditions and loads vary. I would bet heavily against getting identical readings in real life.

A battery monitor shunt before the house battery might be helpful here if the app is unreliable. Renogy makes one and there are cheaper unbranded ones out there.

Well, disconnect a panel and see what it says after a couple days, then swap panels. You might have a dead panel, or your batteries are full and it was only needing 17.59a to top them off and stop charging. Try throwing a heavier load on there and see if the numbers come out the same?