diy solar

diy solar

New 24V 200AH LiFePower4 - Current Overload

jeremyee

I have been running 4x AGM 12 volt 100 amp battery's for about 3 months with a Victron 1200 watt inverter with no issues. A couple days ago I switched to a 24 LifePower rack style battery and every night the battery has shut off going into an alarm. Tonight I was monitoring the BMS and the alarm was for over current. I am running my fridge an a couple of computers (shut off at night) and garden lights off the system. After the new LifePower Battery shut down I flipped the breaker and switched on the old AGM batterys and saw the inverter pull up to 50 amps for a few seconds and then drop back down to 4 amps.

I am new to the EG4 battery and am wondering if I have a faulty BMS or do I need a 2nd 24V 200a EG4 Battery due to the Power surge from the Fridge. Below is a graph from VIctron of the voltage & amp usage. Left of the line is the AGM battery's and to teh right is the EG4 Battery. Th black circle is where the event occurred. The left black circle should be over too the right where the amp drop is just next to the other black circle.

powerissue.png

I'm not specifically familiar with the EG4 battery but I've sure looked at lot of data. Here is my observation. According to their specifications the 24V, 200Ah model has a 100A BMS and there is nothing in the chart you posted to suggest the current draw ever exceeded even half that value. Is there a set up menu or DIP switches on the battery where the user can specify a custom over current protection value? Maybe yours is just set too low. Some BMS models even have a separate charge and discharge value that can be set by the user for their specific application. Otherwise the voltage on the EG4 looks very stable and exhibits the characteristic lower voltage drop while discharging compared to AGM.