diy solar

diy solar

New Active balancer

RCinFLA

Solar Wizard
If you have not already seen, there is a new BT active balancer that is DC-DC converter to supercap storage similar to the much more expensive unit that has been on market for some time. It allows balancing to be restricted to near top end of charging so it avoids most of the cell overvoltage difference with load current problems in flat portion of discharge curve that can cause balancing in wrong direction.

Last edited:
any recommendations for power supply with this?
Can't say.
I've no experience with balancers or BMSs that require an external power supply.
I guess you would use a dc2dc boost converter.
I've had such bad luck with cheap dc2dc converters that I find the usage model a bit sketchy.
Did you see the subsequent review of the JK BMS?
Except for the dependency on an external power supply, it looks pretty good.
If you pursue the idea please share you knowledge.

any recommendations for power supply with this?
The balancer needs a 30v to 100v dc supply. Only needs about 25 mA max. For 16s battery array it can be powered from battery stack. 4s or 8s needs a separate power supply. You could get a small DC-DC boost converter to run from 4s or 8s batteries.

Very tempted to get this I have to say, although I am yet to even get batteries, let alone a charger!

I also messaged the seller to see if they has an iOS app, apparently in 10 days which seems very specific and would not be holding out much hope for. Need to dig out an old android phone if I want to use this

I emailed them from their github page. Looks like they will have a 12v/24v option soon. May want to wait for that instead of wiring up an external power supply.