diy solar

diy solar

New EcoFlow Delta Pro owner has some questions:

William Stone

Hi everyone,

I'm a new EcoFlow Delta Pro owner and in my initial testing of my Delta Pro I've come up with a few burning questions:
(1) I read that it isn't proper to charge the Delta Pro to 100% and store it fully charged. Naturally, many people want to use the unit as a back-up if there is an interruption in the power grid. How full can a Delta Pro be charged safely and without degrading the battery. What is the optimum % of power to store. (IIRC, the user manual says that while being stored, every 3 months the battery should be discharged to 30% and recharged up to 60% or more.)

(2) I've read that charging "rechargeable things" up faster degrades the battery faster. Likewise charging things up fully degrades the battery faster, and discharging them fully really harms them. How much truth is there to all these claims?

(3) I have since purchased a new 3rd party tri-power generator. Here is a link to what I've purchased: https://www.costco.com/.product.100840185.html I had initially assumed that since the generator had a household female plug and the charging cord for a Delta Pro has a male household plug that I could just plug the Delta Pro into the generator and charge it up that way. I have since read (in the Delta pro manual no less) that charging the unit with AC should only be done with the provided cord, and then only by plugging it into a household outlet supplied by power company. So...

(3a) Can an extension cord be used to lengthen the (fairly short) supplied power cord?

(3b) Is there a way to charge the EcoFlow Delta Pro using a 3rd party Generator? (No, I don't want to use the EcoFlow gasoline powered "smart" generator--I don't want to use gasoline at all except as a last choice.)

(4) I'm certainly not the first person to ask all these questions. Is there a List of FAQ somewhere for EcoFlow Delta Pro units, and EcoFlow products in general?