diy solar

diy solar

New from Oregon, can I "fix" my professionally installed system?

xrd

My wife had a solar system installed professionally this summer. A few days ago we lost power and I was surprised that the power went off even though the sun was out. Is this something I could fix by adding a battery to the system? Is this something I as a complete newby should even consider (I'm a software engineer but know nothing about electrical)? Last winter we were without power for a few days during an ice storm and it would be great if we could keep the power with our solar panels but now I'm not sure that's the case if there is no connection back to the grid. The inverter is an Enphase if that matters.

Nothing to "fix." Welcome to grid-tie. Many new solar owners aren't told this unless they explicitly ask, so don't blame your wife.

She would have pooed her britches at the increase in cost of a system that could operate independently with battery storage.

That's where you are now. You need to determine how much storage you'll need, and how to interface it with the grid-tie system. Some have battery backup options and others don't. You may need to add a new AC coupled inverter.

As a SWAG, take the cost of your original system and then assume you'll have to spend 1-2X that same amount on getting it usable for off-grid.

Reactions: xrd
Thanks so much for the response.

I don't think I want it to be completely off grid. It would just be nice to have a way to charge devices and run the hot water heater, for example. Or, enough to have lights on for a few hours before bed time. So just enough for a few hours here and there, not fully off grid.

Is that an easier discussion? How do I calculate what I "need?"

Thanks so much for the response.