diy solar

diy solar

New to buying raw cells, are these EVE LF304 cells new/ok?

yakfish

Hi, first off I'm pretty new to this, so please be nice. :)

Last year, I purchased (from Jenny Wu @ Docan) a set of 8 LF50K cells for a small 50Ah 24v motorized kayak battery build, and the cells were VERY flat. Battery works great.

I just purchased another set of 8 LF304K cells from the same source, for a 24V travel trailer build. Some are flatter than others but all seem to have at least some low point in the middle, and some higher points on each side. Hard to capture, but here's a photo - this is probably one of the worst. I'm wondering if this is "normal" for LF304's, or if these look used or just lower grade "storage grade" new cells? Anything to worry about?

The QR code on all 8 cells decodes to say they were made last July 2022.

Quote from the seller - "they are brand new EVE LF304 cells".

Thoughts?

Thanks!

IMG_8990.jpg

Yeah, most of them that is not possible... View attachment 141028View attachment 141029

Hard to tell get a better picture of the QR code but they appear to be a bit puffy but not horrible.

If they don't have a B on them these should be grade A as EVE started marking cells with the letter B on them made after March 2022 and these look to be July 2022.

You may need to peel off the black paper and see the area where the QR code to make sure it has not be re-lasered.

Hard to tell get a better picture of the QR code but they appear to be a bit puffy but not horrible.

If they don't have a B on them these should be grade A as EVE started marking cells with the letter B on them made after March 2022 and these look to be July 2022.

You may need to peel off the black paper and see the area where the QR code to make sure it has not be re-lasered.

Ok, it looks like there was probably some lasering going on here... large area around the QR has a different shine.