diy solar

diy solar

New to solar and electricity and all the rest.

Alexdaze

Hello everyone, well, like the title says, I'm new to all this stuff. Been planning a van build for quite some time now and I'm about to finally make the move into buying the van and starting the conversion.

Being in Canada, with our great winters, I want to make sure I have enough power for a couple of days winter skiing in remote locations. I've been researching lots and lots but it just doesn't stay in my head all that electrical wiring and electrical components I need for a full setup.

From Will's website, there is a place where it says all the solar components needed for a full setup but in an other tab, there is also the ''king of power setup'' and it has less things listed on it so before making any purchase, I wanted to see here if I was missing anything.

- Battery, I was looking at 3 or 4 battle born
- Solar panels, I was looking at 600W (mono or poly, not sure which one is more efficient)
- MPPT (I think for 600W solar, the only one listed on Will's website is the Victron... 100 50 amp or the 150 45amp) but I'm probably wrong on this one.

Here, I was looking for a inverter/charger but I was told to take them separate in case one fails so
- Inverter 3000W ( toaster/oven and induction cooktop are probably the 2 largest things I'll be powering, it says they are 1800W each so I just can't run them at the same time if I understand correctly)... also a laptop but mine is broken so eventually will buy a new one
- Battery charger (I've got no clue what to get)
- Battery monitor, I was looking at the Simarine PICO battery monitor.
- Battery Isolator

Now, to charge from the alternator, should I get a second alternator installed and used just for that or a battery to battery (or something like that) would be plenty good?

Do I need a Automatic transfer switch?

Would it be too big of a setup?

Thanks and sorry if all this has been already answered somewhere.