diy solar

diy solar

New to solar

Ked

I have an RV I would like to add solar to and could use some input. I plan to install 3x renogy 170ah lithium ion batteries with a renogy dc/dc mppt charge controller. On the roof I plan to use 3x renogy 175W Monocrystalline panels (I could add another panel if needed?? ) and of course the appropriate size wiring and circuit breakers. I may eventually add a pure sine-wave inverter.

I am curious to know if this system is viable and any input would be greatly appreciated, as I am new to this and could use all the help I can get. Thanks.

That will definitely work, but you could stand to add about as many panels as you could fit on the roof with a total of 510ah (at I assume 12 volts). That is 6500 watts of power stored in your battery. Your solar panels will produce no more than 500 watts an hour, probably closer to 400 per hour when it's sunny. A full day, at 5 hours of good sun on the RV roof (being generous here), will make about 2000 watts per (good) day.

Of course I imagine you'll also be charging with a combination of a generator, shore power, and alternator, so what you lack in solar could easily be made up for.

I am no longer a fan of Renogy products. You can, and I have, found better quality panels off Craigslist for a fraction of what Renogy costs. I think you're better off buying Epever than Renogy as your charge controller. I don't have any experience though with their Lithium batteries.

renogy dc/dc mppt charge controller.
What is the max charge current of that controller? 40A? If so, with a 12V system that supports a max PV of about 500W. You can over panel a bit so maybe 600W. 3 175W panels is fine but 4 is possibly too much. It largely depends on the orientation of the panels, shading, and other factors and how much wattage you really get out of the panels at any one time.