diy solar

diy solar

Newbie building a portable generator

murdsman

I have some land that is currently off grid. We are planning on building next summer, probably starting with a garage. I am wanting to build a portable solar generator to power some small power tools and recharge tool batteries. I'm thinking about 2000 W inverter, 400 - 800W solar array, appropriate sized solar controller and a couple 100 ah lithium batteries to run 12 or 24 volts. I am not locked in on any of these specs but trying to keep it a manageable size and reasonable cost. I am new to this solar world and do not have a deep knowledge of electricity. I know a little more than the basics but am excited to learn and build something like this.
With this generator I would like to have the ability to charge it with a gas generator if solar charging is not sufficient for one reason or another.
Would that mean that I would need a inverter/charger? I think they have internal transfer switches, are there other components that I would need like a converter?
I would like to keep the size to a medium to large cargo box with wheels that I could move around where needed.
Any recommendations would be appreciated.

What a beautiful build you have done. The detail is incredible.
Looks like you have a separate charger from the inverter. What are the advantages / disadvantages of that?
What is the purpose of the shunt?
As usual the more I see the more questions I have.
Thanks for the input.

Thanks for the feed back. Another question I had was you have a positive and negative bus bars. In Will's 400W schematics I have only seen a negative bus bar. How does that work?
Also with inverters I see that there are low and high frequency inverters. I'm thinking that with my application being mostly outdoors that it is not worth the extra cost at this point. What are the advantages and disadvantages with each?