diy solar

diy solar

Newbie Camper Diagram - Feedback Needed

untitled

I'm about to take delivery of a small camper trailer, and I have been researching/learning/YouTubing over the last couple of months to do some initial upgrades to the bare bones setup it comes with from the factory. I have zero experience with electrical/solar projects, so I'm reasonably certain that I'm missing something or doing something wrong/stupid/potentially dangerous.

I plan to go with LiFePO4 from the start (Ampere Time since I can't get my hands on SOK and don't want to pay for BB - I'm in Texas, so low temp isn't a huge concern for now and will be sorted out later this year), and I will be using Victron products throughout. I will need to make use of the sidewall solar port and the WFCO Power Center that comes with the trailer for a little while before I can afford to do another round of upgrades (2000w inverter, rooftop solar array w/ beefier MPPT, and possibly a different charging center). Appliances that will be used are typical: 12V fridge/freezer, LED lights, phones, iPads, portable projector, laptops, the camper's Truma Combi furnace & water pump, and maybe even short stints running the little 8,000 btu A/C to cool down at bedtime.

Attached is a quick MS Paint diagram I put together.

A few notes:

1. I plan to run 2awg wire from the starter battery in my 5.7L Ram 1500. This run is the only long run (more than ~10ft) in the installation. Because the max gauge wire the Orion will accept is 6awg, I plan to step down the wire size somewhere close to the Orion, but run 2awg for most of it (the run is roughly 60-70ft total, including the runs in the truck and the trailer).