diy solar

diy solar

Newbie considering 24V SUV overlanding system? Suggestions welcome :-)

arnicooper

Hi,

Car is a 2013 VW Touareg, but expect later to have some type of Land Cruiser (maybe 2 years out). I'm wanting a system I can migrate to the new vehicle later and that can be a setup for an RV trailer (say an 18' Airstream)

I'm a relative newbie in this but have been researching these potential plans and making changes for more than a year now. So far, I've stuck with grid-tied AC charging of my current battery (12V 125Ah AGM) and wish to purchase something like the following:

I'm designing to be able to have a 50L fridge/freezer, 24V Cpap, laptop (batteries are 90Whr, but I also have a car DC charger, and I'm a heavy user for biz), phone, and other small appliances for traveling for a couple of weeks at a time.

24V 50Ah LiFePo4 (Battleborn? Other better? more affordable? but excellent build quality for price: bang for buck, cost per kwh * cycles, etc.). I may have to choose a
- Alternative: 24V 100Ah battery (heavier than I'd want to move around): Ampere Time 24V 100AH LiFePO4 Lithium Iron Battery

24V solar panel (120W? 150W?):
- Newpowa 120W 24V Monocrystalline Solar Panel Designed for 24V Charge System? Other

24V DC-DC charger w/MPPT (for running off 12V alternator and solar). This has been my biggest challenge so far. My VW is 12V (~220a). I haven't seen good/excellent products that will yield: all 4 things desired: DC-DC (for car), MPPT (for solar), ~30A, and 24V.
- Previously I was planning on charging the 12V 125ah AGM, but planned to go bigger later, I had already purchased (but not yet setup) a Renogy 60A
- considered: Victron Energy SmartSolar MPPT 100V 30 amp 12/24-Volt Solar Charge Controller (Bluetooth)
- considered: Victron Energy Orion-Tr Smart 24/12-Volt 30 amp 360-Watt DC-DC Charger Non-Isolated (Bluetooth)
Can I find one that has good amperage, 24V, DC-DC, and MPPT?