diy solar

diy solar

Newbie from Portugal building a house :)

gonmag8

Hi all.
I am new to solar but I have been playing with batteries in my profession for a few years, I am an automotive engineer by trade and have been involved in some mild-hybrid vehicles. I am familiar with electricity (mainly DC)

At the moment I am building a new house in Portugal and I am starting to think about what sort of solar system will I put in place.

The new house has 100m2 flat roof without shades that I plan to use for solar panels. The roof floor has white stone gravel so I was thinking would it be a good reflecting surface for bifacial panels ?

I have been watching some youtube videos and reading these forums for a while but even so I probably need to continue learning before deciding on anything.

Portugal has a few constrains that I must keep in mind.
  • Exporting to the grid is not paid, so there is no point doing so
  • No real benefit in having dual tariff as most companies charge a huge premium for daily rate and the night rate is just a little bit cheaper than fixed tariff
  • We pay a fixed monthly fee based on the max power input of our mais board, (so think a peak shaving functionality would be beneficial here ?)
    • If we drain more that that "hired" max power the board switches off and the house looses all electricity, this leads most people to overestimate the max power input to prevent power cuts in case by coincidence someone turns on all appliances at once.
  • Customs are very problematic here, things often just disappear and in some cases duty paid parcels end up having to pay duty again :mad:

The house does not have access to gas or any other form of energy other than electricity, it will have the following main loads:
  • 11KW heat pump (draws about 5KW electrical) but mainly used in winter when its colder and there is less sun :(
  • Fridge / Freezer
  • Induction Hob
  • 2 x 1.5KW Sewers pumps