diy solar

diy solar

Newbie: help picking rigid panels for Bluetti EB70s

Anthony Garcia

i am new to this solar power thing... so i need some assistance in picking rigid panels that will work with a Bluetti EB70. Im basically trying to make a barn on my property offgrid power using a portable power station. The station will stay at the barn full time (except for trips). I will typically use two 40W LED bulb for 3 hrs a day. Im thinking the EB70 at 700Whr should take care of that. But i would like it to be recharged with roof mounted rigid panels. I would like to use as close as possible to maximum charge potential of the EB70. it seems that's 200W input? Its not clear on their web site. I dont want to use the portable 200W bluetti panels, since they are not waterproof.. ie. when snow is on roof. But from what im reading on this forum you have to match other specs to the unit, Voltage, Amps? A simple explanation of the math would be helpful.
There's lots of choices and confusion for a newbie. Not sure if i need 12v or 24v? So some assistance would be greatly appreciated, so i can make a purchase.

here are a couple of rigid panels on amazon:

RICH SOLAR 200 Watt 24 Volt Moncrystalline​

RICH SOLAR 200 Watt 12 Volt Moncrystalline​

any thoughts on wich one these or others would work?
Or would i be better looking at two 100W? if so, in series or parallel?

Here's the info:
FASTER SOLAR/AC/CAR RECHARGING
1) Advanced MPPT technology ensures faster solar recharge rates. With max input of 200W, this power station can be fully recharged in 3-4 hrs with solar panels (OCV 12-28V, 200W); 2) It can also get fully recharged from an AC wall outlet in 3-4 hrs or a 12V car port in 7-8 hrs.

It looks like either 200 watt panel would work, but can only use up to 200 watts.

also the 24v 200W panel sais this.... will that be a problem with the EB70 input at 12-28v?

• Maximum Power(Pmax): 200W
  • Maximum Power Voltage(Vmp): 37.6V
  • Maximum Power Current(Imp): 5.32A