diy solar

diy solar

Newbie Looking for Advise.

Florida Sun

Hi everyone,
I am new to this whole solar power community. I am looking to build a small system of 3kw or there abouts. I will be using San Tan 250w panels, I will be ordering 16 of them to do a ground mount system and a additional 4 for reserve. I was thinking of wiring them in 3 strings of 4 per string, open voltage of 150.4w per string. Hear are the specs on them....

Features:

• 60 cell, polycrystalline
  • Weather resistant. Certified for salt mist and ammonia resistance
  • Anti-Reflection surface treatment
  • IP65 Junction Box w/MC4 Compatible Connectors
  • Frame: Anodized aluminum alloy (Black or Silver)

Specifications:

• Rated Power: 250W
  • Open circuit voltage (VOC): 37.6 V
  • Max power voltage (VMP): 30.3 V
  • Short circuit current (ISC): 8.85 A
  • Max power current: 8.27 A
  • Power Tolerance 0/+3%
  • Maximum system voltage: 600V (UL)
  • Fuse Rating: 15 A
  • Weight: 41 lbs.
  • Dimensions:64.95 × 39.05 × 1.37 in
I would like to have the system grid tied with Battery backup. I would like to go with a 48v system. So my big question is what system components would work with these panels? I am looking at doing DIY battery packs of 18650 battery's. Any thoughts on using 18650 battery packs in 48v configuration?
Thanks and looking forward on hearing your thoughts.
Sean

I am looking at doing DIY battery packs of 18650 battery's. Any thoughts on using 18650 battery packs in 48v configuration?
My first thought was that you must REALLY love spot welding!

Seriously, what is the reasoning behind using 18650's rather than LiFePO4 cells? Availability? Cost?

As best said by Jonny 5, more input.
It's hard for anyone to suggest anything without more information.
You said battery back up but not how long they need to last or how much power you will be drawing off them.
The better the info the less money you will spend buying the wrong stuff...