diy solar

diy solar

Newbie Question regarding a Solar Generator

TonyT69

Hello Folks,

I am an absolutely newbie to all of this and I was hoping that you knowledgeable people might be able to answer a question I have. I have an off grid barn in the Pyrenees in France and I am looking to install solar as a replacement for a petrol generator I currently use. The power I require is modest. I have a solar fridge which runs on its own circuit and panels. I only require power for a few lights, mobile phone, Bluetooth speaker charging, a small TV and the occasions my wife uses her hairdryer! My current petrol generator is an 800 watt model. The barn is a renovation project as a holiday bolt hole. I have been looking at the various Solar Generators like Ecoflow, Bluetti etc. My question is whether one of these units can be used as a direct replacement for the petrol generator? Currently the petrol generator plugs into the house via an ordinary plug. I plug the cable into the generator, start it up and it runs everything I need. My question is can I swap out the petrol generator for solar generator without any modification to the current electrical set up. I am sorry if this is a naive question but I can’t seem to find an answer to my question anywhere! Thanks in advance!

Yes, you can use the nicer pre-builts as a drop in replacement for the generator, especially if you're currently running on an 800w unit and it's doing the trick. You will need to do some homework however and find out what your Kwh usage is per day to make sure you can get one with enough battery capacity to make it through the night. A simple Kill-A-Watt device plugged into your genny for a few days will give you a running total daily usage average (so plug it into the genny, plug the cord into the Kill-A-Watt, do a normal few days) and then just size the unit and solar panels to fit those needs with some extra.