diy solar

diy solar

Newbie with AGM batteries in Cold Temperatures.

Jdub

Hi.

I'm new to solar. Here is some background information. Due to Covid I have not been able to travel to set up my system at our cottage. I've done tons of research and have decided on what equipment I can use with my budget at our off grid cottage. We go up every weekend all year round, so we can check on the system once every a week or two weeks max. We are in southern central Canada where winter's get down to -25°C/-13°F for at least 2 months in the winter. We are off grid, use a wood stove for heat and a generator for electricity but would like to off set the cost of fuel with free energy that solar can easily supply most or needs for the weekend. I would like to continue charging my system in the winter weeks while we are unable to provide wood burning heat. The only option would be by solar. The winter months are too cold to facilitate charging and I would like to know if anyone has ever made insulated self temperature regulating heated battery box with 12v/24v low watt heaters/blankets for AGM batteries. Looking for advice. I have 12v temperature monitors that can cut power and some low watt heaters with fans. Not sure if I'll go this route. I also want to keep water/liquid storage from freezing during the week. I was thinking of using a similar system to heat or maybe combining the two. I don't think I should store the batteries inside near the water but it would be convenient. I only need to keep batteries and water/liquids just above freezing. I am also concerned about venting of AGM batteries and probably better to keep them separately in an outside container. I can set up my AGM deepcycle batteries to provide 12v 500AH and am trying to limit my heater to under 100watts, but I have a 150 watt heater/fan as well as temperature monitor that I was going to try in a 2 inch styro insulated container. No practical tests can be done until the freezing winter months and Covid-19 restri