diy solar

diy solar

Newbie with multiple questions

Austinbriggs123

Ok so I’m new to this so don’t roast me!!! Haha just kidding
I’ve decided to go with a 1000w system
My list I have some things are not adding up I don’t think but tell me if it will work.
4 250w solar panels. That run with a (vpm) 34v I will need to run them in series solar array will be 100yrds from battery controller. So I will have 136v once all connected together?
Charge controller is a 60a CAE mppt
Here’s where I’m confused
Specs say recommended input voltage
12v(18v-60v)
24v(36v -72v)
48v (72v-144v)
I don’t really have the money to buy 4 batteries to make a 48v system nor do I want to. So my panels in series would be just under the 48v limit of 144v max.
I have a 100ah 12v lithium battery
Also I have a 2000w-4000w peak pure sine wave inverter please help! Im getting overwhelmed with this whole thing haha I have not purchased the panels yet they are just a killer deal at 100 bucks each.

OK, so here's a few tips to hopefully help:

The number you need to use for your PV voltage is the VoC, not the Vmp.

If you're going to be using a 12v system then your panels will have to be in parallel to avoid over-volting the charge controller. That should put you around 37-ishVoc and 28a which is about the top end of MC4 connectors. Putting any of them in series on a 12v system will fry the controller. Fortunately you can get 4-way MC4 splitters pretty cheap, just plan on running 10AWG wire from the splitters to the SCC.

That 12v battery is pretty undersized for a 2000w inverter. At 2000w that's about 30 minutes of run time and 170amps of wire and fuses. Most people would say drop that down if you can or bump up your battery bank to a higher voltage.