diy solar

diy solar

newPowa 200W panels not outputting amps!?

Cosmini

hello folks, newbie here,
I originally purchased a Renogy 200W Mobile solar panel which is working flawlessly with my Victron SCC 100V/30A outputting 180-205W.
I then bought two 200W Newpowa solar panels (non-mobile).
Both of the NewPowa panels, when connected by themselves output 17+V, but no amps whatsoever (0 amps).
When I connect them in series, according to the Victron SCC output 28V and190W combined (at top sun). This leads me to believe that they are 100W panels, but not sure why they do not work by themselves. Has anyone seen this kind of behavior? -- so far, crickets from the support company. (I've attached screenshots of the two in series, and one, standalone)

thank you kindly for any thoughts,
Cosmin

Attachments

• Screenshot_20211130-140456.jpg
    Screenshot_20211130-140456.jpg
    108.4 KB · Views: 7
  • Screenshot_20211130-113006.jpg
    Screenshot_20211130-113006.jpg
    112.5 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
the working renogy is 53 x 32.5 = 1722.5 sq in.
the problematic newpowa is 64.5 x 26.5 = 1709.25 sq in

this is the amazon link for the newpowa panel:

I'm a tad lost, as a newbie as I really wanted to bulk up to a total of 4 x 200w =800W worth of wattage.

1709.25in^2 = 1.10m^2

That's 1100W hitting that panel in perfect sun... 200/1100 = 18%

Okay. Looks like it should be a 200W panel.

Check Voc and Isc manually with a multimeter.

with a multimeter, VOC is 17.75V.
Isc is 0 on a 10Amp scale, and 03.0 readout on the 200mA scale. both panels are behaving identically and there is no scratch or dent on them.

still lost :)

with a multimeter, VOC is 17.75V.
Isc is 0 on a 10Amp scale, and 03.0 readout on the 200mA scale. both panels are behaving identically and there is no scratch or dent on them.

still lost :)

Is that in sunshine? If so, that's just nuts.

Specifications​

• Dimension: 64.57*26.57*1.38 inches
  • Weight: 27.56 lbs
  • Max Power Output(W): 200W