diy solar

diy solar

"Non-Solar" Question: What's the best (UPS back-up style) battery to use with a refrigerator? (in preparation for a 3 week power-outage scenario..)

shudog

Hi, What's the best (UPS back-up style) battery to use with a refrigerator? (in preparation for a 3 week power-outage stype of scenario..)
(P.S. If anyone answers this, Please consider that If U answer me with anything technical, i will not understand what U R saying.. I'm new to this. I don't live off the grid YET. My only solar panels +batteries that i currently own are to power my street performace show, (+i havn't really used those yet either!) I just want to buy something like a UPS for a computer (to put between my frig and my wall.) -Preferably the smallest units that would work for a frig as i have multiple refrigerators in different locations, so i would actually need to buy several.. Thanks SO MUCH if anyone has knowledge on this topic to share !!!!!!!!!!! UPDATE: I was theorizing that i could to do this by (keeping the fig/freezers closed, and) using timers between the battery+frig to only give it juice in intervals (feeding the frig maybe 5-10% of the time?) to extend battery life for a lot more days in a total extended "power-is-out" emergency.. Has anyone ever tried this?

Last edited:
3 weeks is too long for a reasonable battery backup. Modern fridge uses 1500 Wh/day. 3 weeks would be 30 kWh, which is a $5000 forklift battery weight several thousand pounds.

Solar panels to produce that power is about 400 to 500W (STC), about $150 to $200. In addition you need charge controller (and small battery plus inverter capable of starting fridge.

You may be able to use your car to recharge a battery (OK for smaller lead-acid, don't do with lithium unless you have an electronic charger to limit current draw to avoid killing alternator.

Portable generator $100 to $400 is more practical. Run until freezer cycles off, then stop.