diy solar

diy solar

Noob building very small system for van conversion

gac1222

Hey guys, new to the forum and very green when it comes to solar. I've watched many of Will Prowse / explorist.life videos and am trying to build a small camper van system (2 12v 100W panels run in series and 1 SOK Lithium 100AH battery). It will run very small modest loads (~60a / day) with most everything being DC (led lights, fan, water pump, diesel heater), and the only AC being used to charge phones occasionally. Most videos and tutorials I see seem catered to building larger 3-400AH systems, and that is more power than I'll need.

Anyways, here is a small sketch of a system I am planning to build, was wondering if I had this set up correctly with fuses/wires. System will operate entirely offgrid and will be used as a weekend warrior setup, so only needs to maintain power for a few days of light use . Any advice is welcome, again I am very new to all of this..wiringchevypaint.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_4354.jpg
    IMG_4354.jpg
    330.7 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:
Seems like a lot of equipment for a small system. It will be ready for expansion as needed.

Fuse on the solar panel feed is not needed.

One foot SOK to LYNX I would skip the fuse or reduce the wire size to #2

#8 is fine for the ground as the inverter has a return feeder.

I would go 150a and #2 to the inverter.

The 40 amp #12 that I think is fed by the solar I would drop to 30 amp or better to increase the wire to #10 or #8

Battery switch is nice but since there is solar I would skip it and just remove a cable if set in long term storage.

I might save the money and skip the shunt. Get the bluetooth SOK and virtually the same info might be available.

Sorry that is a lot of changes. Nothing is especially terrible or dangerous.

Why are there two pairs of wires from the inverter to the Lynx? Oh, I think the pair going to the 40A fuse is meant for the charge controller.