diy solar

diy solar

Noob solar set up/controller questions

OUBob

Hello,

I'm new to the solar experience, looking to utilize solar on an rv using a few components I already have and I am looking for advice on the remaining equipment I will need, with a goal of deleting the generator.

I have 2 Trina 250w panels, putting out 37.4v and a 1500w continuous Schumacher inverter. I'm hoping to use the panels along with batteries to cover my needs for a half dozen or so weekends a year.

I need to identify a solar charge controller that can take the panel voltage and charge 12v batteries. I was given an El cheapo eBay controller, but it auto selects parameters for a 24v system, I assume due to the voltage coming from the panels. I may not be interpreting the Engrish on the "manual" completely.

I'm also in the air on battery selection, lead acid vs LiPO. I understand if I go lithium, I will need a BMS for safety concerns at a minimum. I expect very low demand, basically I just want to maintain 12v to the fridge and furnace, with enough juice left over to run the furnace fan at night. Would it be easier to just stick with LA and keep them on a trickle charger when not in use? This will not be a permanently installed system initially, I'm not willing to poke holes in the roof yet.

Thanks,
Bob

Last edited:
I'm not willing to poke holes in the roof yet.
I’m never willing to poke holes in a roof.

Don’t poke holes in the roof.

To support panels, make a “roof-rack” system that is side-mounted.

For wiring, buy rooftop dual-wire ‘gland’ fixtures- but side mount that with a drip-loop.

Problem: fridge.
Is that a 12V/propane fridge? Running that on 12V will either be almost a deal breaker or a failure (you pick).