diy solar

diy solar

ODD issue with EVE280ah cell with JBD BMS

BigDean

This is my first build, so played it safe buying the cells from @Jenny Wu at Docan. 16 x 280ah EVE cells.

Built it as per the instructions with a JBD 100A BMS using the driver kindly provided by @Louisvdw and a Victron Multiplus II 48/5000.

All configured and appears to be working except I get a high voltage disconnect on Cell 1. Cell 1 is behaving very differently to the other cells. I suspect it is a dodgy cell but wanted to check with the experts first....

I checked all cells when opening and got these readings:

1/1 3.286
1/2 3.286
1/3 3.286
1/4 3.284
2/1 3.286
2/2 3.286
2/3 3.286
2/4 3.286
3/1 3.286
3/2 3.286
3/3 3.284
3/4 3.286
4/1 3.286
4/2 3.286
4/3 3.286
4/4 3.284

I haven't top balanced yet due to not having enough busbars.

When I first connected everything up, the charger kicked in and charged the pack up to 100% (according to the BMS). The BMS stopped the charge because cell 1 had hit the high voltage disconnect at 3.65v. All the other cells were still at around 3.4v.

I thought it was just an anomaly, so disconnected Cell 1 and used a load to bring the voltage down to the same as the others, 3.34. Connected all back up, and the BMS screen showed all within .001v. Then switched the Victron back on and within a few minutes, Cell 1 was back up to 3.65 and triggering the HV disconnect. All other cells are pretty much the same voltage at 3.357/8.

I left resting time of at least 10 minutes between all charges and discharges.

So, do I have a bad cell?

Thanks

To me seems cell 1 more charged than others, so top balancing may fix it. When my small 50 ah cells get charged to 3.65, they will settle to around 3.34 After a few hours.