diy solar

diy solar

Off-grid farm/cabin - Please check my grounding diagram!

pappitattoli

Hello everybody!

please forgive me if any of this sounds stupid, but I'm new to this world.
I'm designing the off-grid system for my farm. The final diagram is 90% complete, but I'm stuck with the grounding.

I understand that grounding changes a lot depending on the components and other variables, so I thought I'd draw a diagram for the whole grounding system.

Consider the following:
  • It's a split phase with two 120V Victron Quattro inverters. There will be both 120V and 240V appliances
  • The inverters will get absolutely no AC inputs. They will be powered exclusively by the battery bank (BYD LVL 15.4)
  • The Quattros have an automatic Neutral/Ground bonding inside, when no AC input is used. Here's the manual:"The Quattro is provided with a ground relay (see appendix) that automatically connects the N output to the casing if no external AC supply is available."
I've been looking at this diagram for the past few hours, and I can't find any mistakes. But it's impossible that everything is right!

My doubts are the following:
  • where/how does the RCD/GFCI come into place?
  • does it make sense that inside the breaker box there's no bonding between neutral and ground? From what I understand, the neutral/ground bonding should be made in only one point for the whole system, and that's where the Quattro's internal bonding comes into play, together with the main ground busbar
  • for each Quattro, the AC output has three terminals: Line, Neutral and Ground. As I said, Neutral and Ground are automatically bonded together by the inverter, so does that mean that the Ground terminal has no wires connected to it? It seems that I can use the ground lug (chassis) and that would be enough.