diy solar

diy solar

Off grid help please

Tom Cullen

Hello,
Total newb here. A few quick questions if y'all would be so kind.

Our solar equipment.
4 100 watt 12v panels w/mc4 connections
1 40amp mppt controller
4 6volt 235 amp golf cart batteries
1 5300 watt dual fuel generator

Our situation.
Off grid 5th wheel

Our problem.
My batteries are hooked up to the 12 volt inverter preinstalled on our trailer. This runs only 12v appliances.
On shore power, we can run the 110.
Shore power can be either 50 amp or 30amp.
I currently run the generator about two hours a day to charge the batteries, and when I need 110 power.
Our solar is not yet hooked up because I am not sure about the wire gauge I need to use from the panels to the controller. And because the only good source of light is almost 40 feet from my trailer.

Additionally, we were recently gifted 18 225 watt 48v panels. I saw that Growatt has a 48v all in one 50amp inverter that I think was 4000 watts.
Can anyone tell me if I could hook up those panels and then run a 50amp connection straight to my shore power on the rv? It sounds doable, but I'm clueless. That Growatt is $1500 but it seems a small price to pay to upgrade our system 10 fold.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Please link the Growatt model that you're considering.
Those "48v" solar panels will not produce exactly 48v; that's often a nominal rating. Consider the VoltageOC rating of the panels, and then consider connecting them in series-parallel to match the solar input of the Growatt unit.

If you'll provide the model or specifications from the panels, and the model of the Growatt unit that you're considering, you'll receive a lot more help, I am sure.