diy solar

diy solar

Off grid shed power.

Whk60

I'm new to this and would like some suggestions on how many 100w panel for our needs. We bought a 14x 28 shed. Half for my shop and half for Mema. Going to use small power tools and a computer, LED low voltage lights and a small fridge. During the summer the shed will be utilized about 4 or 5 days a week at 6 to 8 hrs. In winter maybe two or three days at 2 or 3 hrs most. Heat is not an issue during the cold months. I had thought to use a 12v system with 4-100w panels a 60 Amp MPPT controller, and two Lead Acid, deep cycle marine batteries at 115 AH. Any suggestions on whether it should be larger. My main concern is running the refrigerator.

I'm new to this and would like some suggestions on how many 100w panel for our needs. We bought a 14x 28 shed. Half for my shop and half for Mema. Going to use small power tools and a computer, LED low voltage lights and a small fridge. During the summer the shed will be utilized about 4 or 5 days a week at 6 to 8 hrs. In winter maybe two or three days at 2 or 3 hrs most. Heat is not an issue during the cold months. I had thought to use a 12v system with 4-100w panels a 60 Amp MPPT controller, and two Lead Acid, deep cycle marine batteries at 115 AH. Any suggestions on whether it should be larger. My main concern is running the refrigerator.
What's the power requirement of your frig?
You can get it either from the sticker or else measure it with a kill a watt type meter.

It’s good if you can plug the fridge into a kilowatt meter And get the daily usage. I just looked at a super efficient RV fridge run off 24 volts that uses no more than 1.5 kWh per day on sunny days, and supposedly 800 watt hours on a cold day. The guy had upgraded from a 6 kwh per day fridge. The watts and time used for power tools will make a big difference also.