diy solar

diy solar

Off Grid Solar Questions

lbcrocks

PV Newbie
I'm new to solar power, but ultimately am planning on building my own house, and want it to be off grid. I'm in the research phase of the solar power system and have just a few questions. I'm planning for all of my typical "high draw" appliances (stove, dryer, water heater) to run off of propane, as to minimize the amount of electrical draw from appliances, but living in the south want to have an A/C and heater. I'm looking at a 4 zone ducted mini-split system for the house, but am finding it hard to figure out what wattage they use to size my solar system.

The system I'm thinking might be big enough, would consist of 15- 395 W Solar Panels, a 12K Growatt Hybrid Inverter, and 2- BigBattery.com Kong 15kW Batteries.

Also, with a PV array with 15- 395 watt panels, run as 3 in series, 5 parallel, would I need a combiner box to run that to my inverter?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

I'm in zone 4 and use heat-pump for home but need your home's square feet to give guidance. I have a 4ton/forced-air whole house and it maxes out at 5000kwh. 12,000w inverter will likely be enough to run the mini-split you need. :)

15 x 395w panes = 6kw PV. I have a 13kw PV and need 40kwh for 80% DOD - so by extrapolation (as a ballpark) you'll need around a 20kwh battery bank to have enough storage to be able to consume all you produce. A smaller battery is OK, you'll just find that you top off earlier in the day and 'loose' some of your PV if it's too small - so leave room to expand.

My13kw PV produces 18,000kwh per year. You can use PVWatts https://pvwatts.nrel.gov/pvwatts.php to a good guide for your specific location/weather. I have 16.7% efficiency losses so I only get 15,000kwh/year useable out of the inverters with 18,000kwh coming in. So figure in 15% losses as a general guide - e.g. if you produce 8500kwh/year you'll have 7,225kwh of actual power available.