diy solar

diy solar

Off grid solar system for maintaining half a dozen batteries (ATV's, tractors, boats, etc).

sobee

Hi, I have a shed in my yard that has no power to it. The shed stores half a dozen "toys" that have batteries. I currently run a cord to the shed, and move a battery maintainer between the different pieces of equipment, during the winter, but I'm not as diligent as I should be. I would like to have a maintainer on each and a source of power to the shed that doesn't involve a cord running across the lawn. Is there an easy way to do this with solar? I'm brand new to solar. I've read enough to know that it's not safe to connect a single charge controller to multiple batteries of different sizes/makes/lead acid/AGM etc. I'm wondering if it's possible to install a single 100 watt panel, and connect half a dozen charge controllers to it (one for each battery). Would these charge controllers work for small ATV batteries? I suspect they were designed for larger batteries. Is it possible to send the current from a single panel to half a dozen charge controllers? How do you make these connections? Would the charge controllers function on the little bit of current they are getting and maintain all six batteries simultaneously or is one controller going to get most of the current?

Thank you for the thoughts/suggestions. If there are references to equipment in your reply, it might help to know I live in Alberta, Canada.

There are several ways this could be handled. If all of the batteries are the same voltage (12 volt lead acid) They could all be paralleled and a solar panel and charge controller could hold them all at float voltage all winter. Float current is usually quite small, so even a 100 watt panel would likely be enough. Even in winter, you should hit close to half power. The cells actually get more efficient when cold. 50 watts at 12 volts is about 4 amps. So you still have more than 0.5 amp for all 6 while the sun is on the panel.