diy solar

diy solar

Off topic - UFH electronics check help needed

brandnewb

Going for serious. starting as newb
I have tried 2 other, more specific to general electronics, fora before posting here but those are not be able to see my cries for advice.

May I please ask my general question here.

I have an OEG underfloor heating controller that does not seem to do what it needs to do.

I am really new to electronics but I'd like to learn.

The thermostat is connected to HZ 6 (Heating zone 6).
When the controller is not connected to a power outlet should I be able to measure resistance between the L and N terminals of HZ6 (or any heating zone for that matter) on the controller?

At the moment when I use my multimeter to test for resistance there is no circuit detected when putting the probes on L and N of any of the heating zone terminals.

1638257861183.png

It has a relay and 24V & 24V connections.
Probably you need to supply 24V externally, that is switched by thermostat with rotary dial, and activates the relay.

You can measure continuity through thermostat while adjusting it.
Apply 24V to relay coil, hear it click, measure continuity through contacts.

I would think L and N would never have continuity unless a heating element is attached and the relay is activated.
Without heating element, when relay is activated L would connect to terminal for element.

Thank you @Hedges for your input.

In the mean time I have an update.

The controller unit is a 230 V type as are all the components.

I have narrowed it down to a blown fuse which is not replaced.

Currently my focus point is on what that wiring schematic means of the thermostat. It looks like I should spit N wire but that goes against my intuition.

So the board works fine for the pump and thermostat. All I need to do now is make sure that the thermostat is wired correctly and then I can test if the actuator valve is being fed 230V when it needs to.

I have already confirmed the valve to be functional