diy solar

diy solar

Offtopic Marine: Anyone built their own ultrasonic antifouling system? (solar powered of course)

willo

Solar Enthusiast
So I learned that ultrasonic antifouling systems exist yesterday and of course, I immediately searched for transducers - they seem cheap enough in the 50-100w range. I'm thinking that this could be an opportunity for my DIY side to have some fun.

Since this would definitely run off solar, it's related. Swear!

I've found a few papers on the topic, which should be helpful for tuning frequencies, power levels, etc.

Example commercial system:

Bare transducer example:

Last edited:
SUPER cool idea. unda da sea there r so many creatures.

all i would say is be careful! water can conduct sound really well and i’m a total amateur when it comes to underwater ultrasonic anti fouling systems.

i used a virtual reality wireless hand stimulator array one time at an expo.. it was a square grid array of upward facing ultrasonic transducers that would time delay beamform ultrasonic pulses to your hand based on where the camera said the hand was. they had invisible objects on the screen that could be “touched” but it just felt like a tiny buffet of wind or something. anyways i digress.

the booth person said that it’s about as loud as a jet engine at the hand focus point, so i definitely kept my face/ears away from it, haha..

i’ve bought components from BQLZR before and had decent results.

good luck on your projects!

I’d like to chime in to hear if you were able to accomplish this! Tell us about it! I recently acquired a small pontoon boat. I would like to fully equip with solar as well as this type of antifoul system. I would like to not have to reapply a copper based antifoul every year or two!

No but have been looking for some time. The issue I have is what will high frequance do to my plastic fantastic hull? Delamination...... its probably OK for the tin hull boys