diy solar

diy solar

Old hand @ solar, new to this forum ( off-grid NorthernCalif )

mike95490

( whoops - may have botched my first post, or maybe it didn't go through)

Anyway, been off grid +10 years in No Calif, with 5kw of PV, a large NiFe battery bank @ 48v, and a modern house, but no air conditioning. I may have to rethink the air cond, summers getting hotter and I have extra capacity in summer, might go with a mini-split and get some heat options in winter too.

I'm a retired engineer, we have off-grid pumped pond water with slow sand sanitizing filter and ozone follow up.
Heating is via a Masonry Heater ( contra-flow convoluted brick to extract all the heat from the fire ) with a water heating loop and summer rooftop solar water heat.

foul weather ( rain, clouds, wildfire smoke ) power backup is a 6hp Lister style diesel genset

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Mike95490, I’m not sure if anyone else stated it in response to any of your posts, but I wanted to say Welcome! I have learned so much over my short time on these forums and generally find most members very helpful. Of course there are always a few who seem to not follow the “we are a community” approach and stand out as less then helpful members, but those are generally rare in my short experience here. I look forward to your input and lessons learned so I can continue to learn.

Mike95490, I’m not sure if anyone else stated it in response to any of your posts, but I wanted to say Welcome! I have learned so much over my short time on these forums and generally find most members very helpful. Of course there are always a few who seem to not follow the “we are a community” approach and stand out as less then helpful members, but those are generally rare in my short experience here. I look forward to your input and lessons learned so I can continue to learn.