diy solar

diy solar

On grid newbie question about preparing cabling

mschipperheyn

Hi all,

I am a newbie so forgive me if my questions are stupid. I've bought a new apartment and now is the time to prepare cabling and such. I've been thinking about installing a single solar panel on the veranda. It will help with energy costs but of course not cover them. I'm thinking of installing it in a way it can deliver back to the grid or perhaps just help with kitchen appliance and airco.

My question is about cabling. In order to deliver back to the grid, do I need to connect a cable to the point where the grid is connected to the main fusebox? I was thinking: since the return of a single panel is low, I was thinking I could hook it up to the kitchen grid, so it could reduce consumption for the various appliances: fridge, airco, etc. There wouldn't be anything left for the grid probably anyways. However, many appliances have separate fuses, so that would suggest you could perhaps support only one.

I'm also a little vague about why and how in these scenarios, the current from the panel would reduce the grid related energy bill.

So, yeah, a number of newbie questions related to basic concepts. Any help is appreciated

Kind regards,
Marc

Questions are how you learn. The only stupid question is the one not asked, as the old saying goes!

As with most newbies, you would do well to start by going to the “Beginner’s Corner” forum and do some reading on sizing systems, etc. That’s where I started here, and for good reason; I needed to! Please don’t take this offensively, but your statements and questions make clear that you have no idea how solar works, what it takes to generate a useful amount of power, or the extreme limitation of a porch/veranda - single solar panel setup. No problem though... as it is for all of us, such understanding gaps are fixable!

So, let me try to answer your questions...