diy solar

diy solar

On Keeping LFP Warm

Horsefly

Solar Wizard
I’ve looked / searched a bit and didn’t find anyone addressing this specifically, so I thought I would put down some thoughts and results of my computations and hopefully others will correct and/or contribute to a better picture.

We all know that LFP batteries need to be kept above 32°F/0°C for charging, and in fact they behave much better if kept closer to 50°F or more. There are numerous great threads here (and YouTube videos) of people building insulated boxes with heating pads. It got me thinking: Is there a way to know - or at least estimate - the specifics of what you NEED in a given installation?

That’s where my quest began a few days ago. I’m a retired engineer, so I started down the rabbit hole. The below is my initial take on calculating some requirements.

I think there are really two aspects to keeping cells warm in a battery box: Heating up the LFP pack, and the heat loss to the outside of the box.

Item 1: Heating an LFP pack
I realize there are lots of secondary items to consider here. For example: How much air / dead-space there is in the box around the pack. I’m happy to hear some thoughts about how to incorporate such items into a solution, but for now I’m going to concentrate on the heating of the pack.